The Colony


Canada, 2013, 95’, colore, DCP
di Jeff Renfroe
Sceneggiatura Jeff Renfroe – Fotografia Pierre Gill – Montaggio Aaron Marshall – Musiche Jeff Danna – Effetti speciali Derek Bujalski, Ben Borean – Visul Effects Nathalie Cyr – Interpreti Laurence Fishburne, Kevin Zegers, Bill Paxton, Charlotte Suillivan, John Tench – Produttore Paul Barkin, Matthew Cervi, Pierre Even – Produzione Alcina Pictures, Mad Samurai Productions – Distributore italiano One Movie – Sito ufficiale

The desperate survivors of a new Ice Age contend with sickness and infighting while attempting to contact the inhabitants of another outpost that’s gone mysteriously silent. Mother Nature has cast an icy spell over the Earth once again, driving the few remaining pockets of humanity deep underground. Under the leadership of Briggs, the inhabitants of Colony 7 have managed to endure against all odds. Determined to find out exactly what happened in Colony 5 assembles a team, and ventures out to investigate. By the time Briggs and his crew discover exactly what they’re dealing with at Colony 5, however, their own base may have already been compromised.

Born in Seattle, Washington, Jeff Renfroe’s debut film was the 2004 movie One Point O, which was nominated for the Grand Jury Prize at the 2004 Sundance Film Festival and won five awards at other international festivals. His second film, Civic Duty (2006), premiered at the 2006 Tribeca Film Festival and was released theatrically in 2007. Renfroe came back to the big screen with a bang in 2013 with The Colony, starring Laurence Fishburne, Bill Paxton and Kevin Zegers, in which survivors of an ice age fight to survive. His next project is the documentary Steve McQueen: King of Cool.